The Bishop


Name: Harold Anthony Perera
Born on: 9th June 1951 at Pamunugama in the Archdiocese of Colombo
Primary Education: At St.Joseph’s School, Pamunugama
Secondary Education: At St.Aloysius Seminary, Borella
Enter the Minor Seminary, Borella 13th January 1962
Employed at Ceylon Auto Industries Ltd: in 1969/1970/1972
Joined the Intermediate Seminary, Haputale: in 1971
Entered the National Seminary: in 1973
Ordained a Priest: 5th if July 1980 by His Grace the Grace the Archbishop, the Most Rev.Dr.Nicholas Marcus Fernando


Assistant Priest: at Dalugama and Bolawalana
Assistant Priest: at Dalugama and Bolawalana
Parish priest: at Kurana, Tudella and Liyanagemulla
Bursar/ Member of the National Seminary Staff, Kandy
Procurator General of the Archdiocese of Colombo
Administrator of the Archdiocesan Estates
Archdiocese Director of the Pontifical Mission Societies
Member of the Archdiocesan Curia/ Personal Board/College of Consulters
Director of the Philosophate of the National Seminary, Kandy
29th January 2003 – Appointed as the Second Bishop of the Diocese of Rathnapura
18th March 2003 – Episcopal Ordination at St.Lucia Cathedral, Kotahena
22nd March 2003 – Took Canonical possession of the Diocese at Sts.Peter & Paul Cathedral Rathnapura
15th of February 2005 – Appointed as the Bishop of Galle
8th of March 2005 - Took Canonical possession as the 6th Bishop of Galle at Queen of the Holy Rosary Cathedral, Galle
6th July 2006 – Appointed Apostolic Administrator of Rathnapura
14th May 2009 – Appointed as the 2nd Bishop of the Catholic Diocese of Kurunegala
11th July 2009 - Took Canonical possession of the Diocese at St.Anne’s Cathedral Kurunegala

GCE Ordinary Level
GCE Advanced Level
Diploma in Computer Programming
BTh (Rome) – Urban University
MA (Rome) – University of St.Thomas Aquinas