Bishop Emeritus


Name: Rt. Rev. Dr.Anthony Leopold Raymond Peiris
Father : Jayasuriya Mahathelge Palis Peiris
Mother : Warnakulasuriya Patabedige Elizabeth Perera
Born on: 09th August 1932 at Kalaeliya, Ja-Ela

Priestly Formation: St. Aloysius Seminary, Colombo .08 (Entered on 15th January 1945 ) - National Seminary of Our Lady of Lanka, Ampitiya, Kandy (Left 0n18th April 1959)

Priestly Ordination: 20th December 1958 at St. Lucia’s Cathedral, Kotahena, Colombo 13 By His Eminence Thomas Cardinal Cooray


15th April 1959 - Assistant Priest of Palagathure August 1959 - Assistant Priest of Murunkan (Mannar) 06th November 1959 - Assistant Priest of Kotahena 01st September 1961 - Parish Priest of Avissawella 22nd January 1963 - Parish Priest of Thoppu

23rd September 1964 - Parish Priest of Pallansena (Kochchikade - Negombo) 11th November 1966 - Parish Priest of Grand Street, Negombo

15th September 1968 - Parish Priest of Tudella 03rd February 1969 - Parish Priest of Dalugama 01st April 1971 - Parish Priest of Kotahena

03rd May 1977 - Procurator General - Colombo till 20th June 1982

01st September 1982 - Parish Priest of Grandpass & Administrator of the Archdiocesan Estates.

05th December 1983 - Episcopal Vicar of the Colombo Region.

07th May 1984 - Episcopal Vicar in charge of the Lay Apostolate (in addition to EV Colombo region).

02nd June 1987 - nominated the First Catholic Bishop of Kurunegala by His Holiness Pope St. John Paul II.

18th July 1987 - Episcopal Ordination – Ordaining Prelate His Grace Nicholas Marcus Fernando at St. Anne’s College Grounds, Kurunegala. Episcopal Moto - “Omnia Omnibus” (All things to all men)

09th August 2007 - Celebration of 75th Birthday

20th December 2008 - Celebration of Golden Jubilee of Priesthood Offices held in the Catholic Bishops’ Conference in Sri Lanka.

December 1987 to March 198 - Vice Chairman-Catholic National commission for Social communications.

March 1989March 1995 Chairman - Catholic National commission for Justice, Peace and Human development.

March 1995 to March 2001 Chairman -Catholic National Commission for Missionary Activity.

1989 – 1995 – Chairman Chairman - Finance Committee

1998 – 2008 – ChairmanChairman - Finance committee

11th July 2009 - Retirement after 22 years of committed service as the first Catholic Bishop of Kurunegala.

18th July 2017 - 30th Anniversary of the Episcopal

Ordination 09th August 2017 - 85th Birthday.

29th September 2017 - Called to Eternal Rest